One Whole Year

One week ago was my one-year anniversary with Weight Watchers. One week and one day ago was the one-year anniversary of me deciding to change my life and sign-up for Weight Watchers.

This time, one year ago, I hated myself. Hated what I had allowed myself to become; hated any mirror I came across naked; hated every single thing I ate because I didn’t eat it out of enjoyment – I ate it out of comfort. I drank too much and ate quantities of food befitting of two full size men. I’d be full, yet would still eat more. I’d be bored, so I’d eat. I’d be depressed, so I’d eat. I’d be sad, mad, happy, excited – and I’d eat.

My waking up moment? When I saw a picture of myself that my mom took when we were walking the Las Vegas Strip. (You can refer to my first post here, to see that picture.)  I could not believe I was looking at me. This is me? This is what I’ve become? When did I get so large? (I’m 5’6″ for reference.) How have I not seen that double-chin before?

I also had received the startling news at my yearly check-up that I weighed 215 lbs. My mind immediately started looking for the justification for my weight gain – well, they just weighed me and I AM wearing heavy clothes… I did just eat a big breakfast… I have had a lot of water this morning…. my shoes alone weigh 2 pounds… and my BOOBS! My boobs weigh a lot…each!….right? The sad fact was that I HAD gained so much weight, and that I had adopted the “ignorance is bliss” mentality.

But, moving forward, here are some statistics:

2016:

  • 215 lbs
  • Size 16-18 pants; 1X-2X bottoms; 39-40″ waist
  • 38DDD bra size
  • Size 1X-2X tops

2017:

  • 135-139 lbs.
  • Size 6 pants (close to a 4!), S/M leggings, S/M skirts; 28-29″ waist
  • 32DD bra size
  • S/M tops

My husband and  I also went to the doctor at the first of this year and got the works – full check-up, blood work, etc. When we attended our follow-up visit, and the doctor asked who wanted to go over their blood work results first, my husband pointed at me. The doctor responded with “Oh good, she’s easy!” and proceeded to tell me that my blood work was perfect. Uh, did you just say perfect? Because I’m pretty sure I heard you say PERFECT?! Yes, the doctor confirmed, you are a perfectly healthy 28-year-old woman.  I about fell out of my chair, I was so excited. THIS is what I was working towards. THIS was my reason. Because, yet another motivating factor for me to lose weight was my mother telling me last year that she was just diagnosed with Type II diabetes. She also has high blood pressure. And my father was diagnosed with Parkinson’s about three years ago and consequently, had a seizure right before his diagnosis. My grandparents and great-grandparents had everything: heart disease, high blood pressure, high cholesterol, you name it. My main focus was (and is) to work towards NOT being diagnosed with any of those, any cancers, tumors, etc. And if that required me to change my way of living and eating, then so be it.

So, one year later, how am I feeling? Well, our rockabilly event is less than two months away and I’m looking at high-waisted bikinis. I also own more pencil skirts than I ever have in my life. My confidence has sky-rocketed and I no longer feel like the odd man out in a group of skinny women. I don’t feel like I’m being judged. I don’t feel like people are looking at me in disgust. I’m okay with looking at myself in the mirror for a prolonged period of time to do my makeup and adjust my clothes, and I LOVE the fact that I can buy smaller clothes. Most importantly, I’M HAPPY. And I’m IN CONTROL. For the first time in my life, I’m not telling myself I’ll just start my weight loss tomorrow… I’ll start my diet tomorrow… because, for the first time in my life, I actually reached the end of one road on my weight loss journey (losing the weight) and am now traveling down the next road of my journey, which is to tighten, tone and get even healthier.

If you’re struggling to find your motivation, reach out to me! The best thing for losing weight is a support system – without mine, I wouldn’t have gotten as far as I did and wouldn’t be where I am today. ❤

2 thoughts on “One Whole Year

Leave a Reply

